SLA Icon

National Indigenous Peoples Day

For the first time this year, the Saskatchewan Library Association is offering grants to libraries to put on National Indigenous Peoples Day programs on or around June 21, 2024. These ten $200 grants are available to SLA’s individual or institutional members to support them as they celebrate and promote National Indigenous Peoples Day in their communities.

Applications will be assessed on how well the program aligns with the National Indigenous Peoples Day theme of recognizing and celebrating the history, heritage, and diversity of First  Nations and Métis peoples in Saskatchewan. Funding will be awarded based on how closely the program meets grant criteria, the number of requests received, and consideration for providing support across the province.

Grant applications must demonstrate a commitment to:

  • Indigenous cultural programming, reflecting First Nations and Métis arts and heritage
  • Literacy and learning
  • Inclusivity of ability, gender, income, and cultural backgrounds

Applications for the 2024 National Indigenous Peoples Day grants are now open!

All recipients of an SLA National Indigenous Peoples Day program grant are required to submit a final grant report, including required receipts, by July 21, 2024. SLA will reimburse grant recipients for exact costs up to $200 by cheque after the final grant report has been received.

Apply Now


For generations, many Indigenous groups and communities have celebrated their culture and heritage on June 21 or around that time of year because of the significance of the summer solstice as the longest day of the year. National Aboriginal Day, now National Indigenous Peoples Day, was announced in 1996 by then Governor General of Canada, Roméo LeBlanc, through the Proclamation Declaring June 21 of Each Year as National Aboriginal Day. National Indigenous Peoples Day is part of the Celebrate Canada program, which also includes Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day on June 24, Canadian Multiculturalism Day on June 27, and Canada Day on July 1.