SLA Icon

SLA Frances Morrison Award


To be eligible for the SLA Frances Morrison Award, a candidate must fulfill the following:

  1. An individual, institution, or group who has performed outstanding service to Saskatchewan libraries
  2. The nominator is a member of SLA

Merit will be based on at least one letter of reference from a nominator, which will testify with several objective and subjective reasons for the nomination that include the nominee’s outstanding service to libraries. The letter may also include biographical details and/or professional background of the nominee.

Nominations should be sent in a letter format.

Click here for the SLA Frances Morrison Award Guidelines.
Click here for a PDF copy of the SLA Frances Morrison Award Application.

General Information

Nominations should be sent via mail or email to:
SLA Frances Morrison Award Nomination Committee
c/o Saskatchewan Library Association
#12-2010 7th Avenue
Regina, SK S4R 1C2

If you have any questions about this award, please contact the SLA office by calling 306-780-3633 or by emailing

Nomination Deadline

SLA is accepting nominations for the 2023 SLA Frances Morrison Award until March 1, 2023.

Frances Morrison joined the staff of the Saskatoon Public Library in 1943 and was the Chief Librarian from 1961 to 1980.During her tenure she was responsible for a major library expansion, the construction of a new main library, a local history room, programming services, and audio-visual and fine arts departments. Morrison played a prominent role in provincial and national library associations and in the establishment of the regional library system in Saskatchewan. When she retired in 1980, the city named the main library in her honour.

In 1981 she was awarded the Canadian Library Association’s Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award. In 1999 she received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit for her contributions to library services in Saskatchewan. In 1982, Frances Morrison joined with the Saskatchewan Library Association in creating this award.

Morrison was involved in a wide range of other activities, including the Meewasin Valley Authority, member and chair of the Saskatchewan Arts Board, the Saskatoon Business and Professional Women’s Club, the YWCA, the Saskatoon Heritage Society, the United Church and the Heart and Stroke Foundation. She received the Queen’s Silver Jubilee Medal in 1977, the Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award of the Canadian Library Association in 1981, a YWCA Woman of the Year Award in 1989, and the Canada 125 Medal in 1993.

In 1999, Morrison received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit for her contributions to library services in Saskatchewan.

Frances Morrison passed away on Sunday August 14, 2011 at the age of 92.

1982 Art Forgay
1983 No award given
1984 Karen Labuik
1985 Keith Turnbull
1986 Ron Yeo
1987 Don Meadows
1988 No award given
1989 Alice Turner McFarland
1990 Constance Mae Acton
1991 SSLA – Resource Based Learning Group
1992 Ved Arora
1993 Shirley Sefton
1994 Alixe Hambleton
1995 Marilyn Jenkins
1996 Merrilee Rasmussen
1997 No award given
1998 Andrew Hubbertz
1999 Ken Jensen
2000 Marion Perry
2001 Bryan Foran
2002 Audrey Mark
2003 Isabelle Butters

2004 Cora Greer
2005 Wenda McArthur
2006 Rosemary Oddie
2007 Anne Craggs
2008 No award given
2009 Gregory Salmers
2010 Frank Winter
2011 Judith Benninger
2013 Maureen Woods
2014 Joylene Campbell
2015 Zenon Zuzak
2016 Allan Johnson & Joanne Beltramini
2017 Ruth Barker
2018 Colleen Murphy
2019 No award given
2020 Bill Sgrazzutti
2022 Janet Smith