SLA Icon

Mary Donaldson Award of Merit


This award is given annually to a student who is enrolled in or graduating from a Library and Information Technology program offered in Saskatchewan.

Selection Criteria

Applications for this award must include:

a) A completed Mary Donaldson Award of Merit application form (to be completed online here)

b) A cover letter

For more information about the award please contact the SLA office by phone at 306-780-3633 or  email at

General Information

Applications should be sent via email or mail to:
Saskatchewan Library Association
#12-2010 7th Avenue
Regina, SK, S4R 1C2

Value of Award:


Application Deadline

SLA is accepting applications for the 2023 Mary Donaldson Award of Merit until March 31, 2023.

Apply Now

The Mary Donaldson Memorial Trust was established in 1966 to honour the memory of Mary Donaldson, who was Saskatchewan’s first Provincial Librarian from 1951 until her death in 1966. The Mary Donaldson Award of Merit was subsequently established in 1977, and has since been given out annually.

1977 Charlotte Vanstone
1978 Debra McKnight
1979 Dawn Snedker
1980 Anita Hauck
1981 Jaclyn Shanks
1982 Dawna St. Marie
1983 Marilyn Lorenz
1984 Doreen Cutting
1985 Mary Conway
1986 Cindy Brenholen
1987 Christel McConachie
1989 Nancy Groat
1990 Donna Marie Cooke
1991 Roxanne Harde
1992 Eleanor Funk
1993 Marlene Kozak
1994 Judy Curren
1995 Katherine Bennet
1996 Eleasa Exner
1997 No award given
1998 Susan Rudolph
1999 No award given

2000 Marion Amyotte
2001 Susan Botari
2002 Darla Allen
2003 Justina Portland Datta
2004 Danielle Demers
2005 Angela Schnell
2006 Tamara Shiels
2007 Cui Yan (Wendy) Lu
2008 Hongru Liu
2009 Danielle Lees
2010 Erin Klis
2014 Gail Lasiuk
2015 James Nobel
2016 Brittany Pickering
2017 Laura Greenshields
2018 Brittany Schmidt
2019 Nicole Riguidel
2020 Toby Cocks
2021 Erica Hartman
2022 Katrina Matt