SLA Icon

Indigenous Student MLIS Education Bursary


The bursary is open to any person of Canadian Indigenous Ancestry (First Nations, Metis, and Inuit). At the time of application, the applicant must be either accepted to or enrolled in a part-time or full-time ALA-accredited Master of Library and Information Science graduate degree program or equivalent.

Applicants must not have received this award in the past. Candidates will not receive the Maureen Woods Educational Bursary and this award in the same year. Preference will be given to Saskatchewan residents or persons with strong Saskatchewan connections.

Selection Criteria

Applications will be considered on the basis of demonstrated ability to fulfill program requirements (indicated by academic achievement and/or references), leadership potential, interest in the profession, demonstration of competencies required of professional librarians of today, and connection to and interest in Saskatchewan.

Applications for the bursary must include:

a) A completed Indigenous Student MLIS Education Bursary application form.
Click here for a PDF copy of the application form.

b) A cover letter

c) An up-to-date resume

d) A personal statement of no more than 500 words outlining the applicants cultural connections and how their lived cultural experience has contributed to shaping their interest in librarianship. (Note: This information may form part of the cover letter.)

e) Legal documentation stating identification as an Indigenous person and/or a letter from a recognized member or leader of your Indigenous community that attests to your identity and specifies your engagement with your community

f) A letter of reference from an employer, teacher, or professor who can attest to the applicant’s ability and commitment to completing the MLIS program

g) Applicants may choose to send post-secondary academic transcripts, but they must be sent directly to the SLA office. Transcripts are not required; however, applicants may submit them as an indication of their ability to complete the program.

A short interview with finalists may be required.

General Information

Applications should be sent via email or mail to:
Saskatchewan Library Association
#12-2010 7th Avenue
Regina, SK, S4R 1C2

The SLA Board issues a call for applications and establishes submission deadlines. Grant applications are reviewed by a Bursary Subcommittee under the SLA Continuing Education Committee. For more information about the bursary, please contact the SLA office by calling 306-780-3633 or by emailing

Value of Award


Bursary funds shall be awarded to successful recipients in a single annual disbursement.

Application Deadline

SLA is accepting applications for the 2024 Indigenous Student MLIS Education Bursary until October 31, 2023.

A resolution was tabled at the SLA Annual General Meeting in 2020 to establish a  bursary to  support a person of Canadian Indigenous ancestry who is pursuing an ALA accredited Master of Library and Information Science graduate degree program or equivalent.

This bursary is made possible through donations from SLA members and other supporters, as well as revenues from SLA’s annual Saskatchewan Libraries Conference.

The first recipient was awarded this bursary in 2023.

2023 – Mikaela Leblanc