

# **Annual General Meeting Minutes**

Saskatchewan Library Association: May 6, 2021, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Institutional Voting Delegates: Melissa Bennett (Legislative Library), Kathryn Foley (Chinook Regional Library), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Julie McKenna (Regina Public Library), Tony Murphy (Wapiti Regional Library), Kate-Lee Nolin (Southeast Regional Library), Nancy Young (Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association), Marilyn Belhumeur (Gabriel Dumont Institute Library), Colin Evans (Lakeland Library Region), Brett Waytuck (University of Regina)

Individual Members: Geoffrey Allen (Regina Public Library), Lindsay Baker (Wapiti Regional Library), Megan Ashcroft ((University of Regina), Melissa Bennett (Legislative Library), Nicole Bergen (Saskatoon Public Library), Mark Black (Regina Public Library), Cara Bradley (University of Regina), Angela Carnall (Campion College Library), Mary Chipanshi (University of Regina), Amber Daigneault (Provincial Library and Literacy Office), Chantel Doerksen (Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Marika Hunter (RCMP Library), Alan Kilpatrick (Law Society of Saskatchewan), Tasha Maddison (Saskatchewan Polytechnic), Julie McKenna (Regina Public Library), Kim Kovacs (Gabriel DuMont Library), Shaun McMullen (Provincial Library and Literacy Office), Oksana Moshynska (Marshall School of Business), Colleen Murphy (University of Regina), Barbara Nelke (University of Regina), Jenny Ryan (Saskatoon Public Library), Darrell Yates (Saskatchewan Polytechnic), Mark Mueller (Saskatchewan Health Authority), Luke Mueller (University of Saskatchewan), Christina Winter (University of Regina), Judy Nicholson (retired), Leslie Polsom (Legislative Library), Gwen Schmidt (Saskatoon Public Library), Theresa Slind (Saskatoon Public Library), Elaina St Onge (Campion Library), Dale Storie (University of Regina), Robert Thomas (University of Regina), Brett Waytuck (University of Regina), Deborah Pelletier (retired, Library Archives Canada), Michael Shires (University of Regina), Amy Rankin (RCMP Library), Nancy Young (SPRA Library)

**Other Attendees:** Paul Gingras (Sask Culture), Scott Frick (Saskatchewan Health Authority), Ryan Monks (Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association)

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions: President Amy Rankin

- a. Acknowledgment of Treaty 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 territories and the homeland of the Metis people where members who are joining remotely may be located
- b. Announcement of Parliamentarian: Robert Thomas
- c. Rules of Order: Bylaw Section 16
- d. Verification of Quorum: Bylaw 14.5 in Section 3: Articles & Bylaws
- e. Introduction of 2020-21 Board and Staff





- 2. MOTION to approve the agenda as presented. Moved by Angela Carnell; seconded by Alan Kilpatrick. Carried.
- 3. MOTION to approve the minutes of June 25, 2020, SLA AGM. Moved by Julie McKenna; seconded by Elaina St. Onge. Carried.
- 4. MOTION to approve the President's Report in the Annual Report 2020-21. Moved by Amber Daigneault; seconded by Kate Lee Nolin. Carried.
- 5. **Treasurer's Report** Darrell Yates

Darrell Yates provided an overview of the financial status of SLA's per the financial statements for year ending January 31, 2021.

MOTION to approve the Treasurer's Report in the Annual Report 2020-21. Moved by Darrell Yates; seconded by Alan Kilpatrick. Carried.

MOTION to approve audited 2020-21 Financial Statements in the Annual Report 2020-21. Moved by Darrell Yates; seconded by Geoffrey Allen. Carried.

MOTION to approve Robert Szautner Chartered Accountant Prof Corp. as Auditor for the year ending January 31, 2022. Moved by Darrell Yates; seconded by James Hope Howard. Carried.

6. **MOTION to approve Committee Reports and Executive Director's Report** (in the Annual Report 2020-21)

Moved by Elaina St. Onge; seconded by Megan Ashcroft. Carried.

- a. Advocacy and Development Anthony Woodward, Vice-President, Advocacy and Development
- b. Continuing Education Amy Rankin, President SLA
- c. Fundraising Darrell Yates, Treasurer
- d. Engagement Elaina St. Onge, Vice-President Engagement and Communications
- e. Communications Elaina St. Onge, Vice-President Engagement and Communications
- f. Program Activities Anne Pennylegion
- g. Executive Director's Report Dorothea Warren
- 7. **MOTION to approve Reports of Representatives to External Organizations** (in the Annual Report 2020-21)

Moved by Brett Waytuck; seconded by Angela Carnell. Carried.

- a. Partnership Committee Dorothea Warren
- b. Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) Prairie Provinces Representative Julie McKenna
- c. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee Michael Shires





- d. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Copyright Committee Representative -Christina Winter
- e. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Cataloguing and Metadata Standards Committee - Devon Lemire
- f. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Book Awards Carla Flengeris
- g. SLA Representative to The Willow Awards Judy Nicholson
- h. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library and Information Technology Advisory Committee Catherine Hana
- i. SLA Representative to Multitype Library Board Dale Storie
- j. SLA Representative to University of Regina Senate Kate-Lee Nolin
- k. SLA Representative to University of Saskatchewan Senate Carol Cooley
- 8. Nominating Committee: Nicole Bergen and Amber Daigneault MOTION to approve the nomination of 2021-22 SLA Board of Directors as endorsed by the 2020-21 SLA Board of Directors. Moved by Judy Nicholson; seconded by Julie McKenna. Carried.

#### Board Members 2021-22

Amy Rankin, President (2020-2022)

Darrell Yates, Treasurer (2019-2023)

Elaina St. Onge, VP Engagement and Communications (2020-2022)

Tasha Maddison, VP of Advocacy and Development (2021-2023)

Luke Muller, Member at Large (2020-2022)

Megan Ashcroft, Member at Large (2020-2022)

Deborah Pelletier, Member at Large (2021-2023)

Oksana Moshynska, Member at Large (2021-2023)

#### 9. New Business:

**Canadian Indigenous MLIS Student Bursary** 

MOTION to approve a new education award to a Canadian Indigenous student enrolled in an ALA Accredited MLIS Program as per the terms of reference presented pending further review by the committee and approval by the Board of Directors. Moved by James Hope Howard; seconded by Alan Kilpatrick. Carried.

### 11. Other Business

### 12. Announcements

- a. Saskatchewan Libraries Conference 2021 June 14-16 Virtual Conference jointly hosted by SLA and MLA
- b. Saskatchewan Libraries Conference 2022 May 5-6, location: Regina

# 13. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members

Anthony Woodward, Nicole Bergen, Amber Daigneault





- 14. Courtesy Resolutions (from the floor)

  Thank you to Sask Lotteries and Sask Culture for their funding and support.
- 15. Motion to adjourn. Moved by Tasha Maddison.

## Attachments:

- a. Minutes of the 2020 SLA Annual General Meeting
- b. Audited Financial Statement 2020-2021
- c. Terms of Reference for an Indigenous MLIS Student Award

