

Annual General Meeting Agenda

Saskatchewan Library Association: May 3, 2024, 8:15 a.m.- 9:15 a.m.

Double Tree by Hilton, Regina, Saskatchewan

- 1. Welcome and Introductions President James Hope Howard
 - a. Acknowledgment of Treaty 4 territory and the homeland of the Metis people where we are gathered
 - b. Announcement of Parliamentarian: Robert Thomas
 - c. Rules of Order: Bylaw Section 16
 - d. Verification of Quorum: Bylaw 13.5 in Section 3: Articles & Bylaws
 - e. Introduction of 2023-24 Board and Staff
- 2. **MOTION** to approve the agenda as presented
- 3. MOTION to approve the minutes of May 5, 2023, SLA AGM as presented
- 4. MOTION to approve the President's Report in the Annual Report 2023-24
- 5. **Treasurer's Report –** Michele Fedyk
 - a. MOTION to approve Treasurer's Report in the Annual Report 2023-24
 - b. **MOTION** to approve audited 2023-24 Financial Statements in the Annual Report 2023-24
 - c. **MOTION** to approve Robert Szautner Chartered Accountant Prof Corp. to conduct a review for the year ending January 31, 2025 New Non-profit Corporations Legislation effective March 12, 2023 Revenue Thresholds for Requiring an Audit or Review
- 6. **MOTION** to approve Committee Reports and Executive Director's Report (in the Annual Report 2023-24)
 - a. Advocacy by Morgan Kelly, Vice-President of Advocacy
 - b. Prison Library Sub-Committee by Marika Hunter
 - c. Continuing Education by Cara Bradley
 - d. Awards Sub-Committee by Robert Thomas
 - e. Communications and Engagement by Riane LaPaire, Vice-President of Communications and Engagement
 - f. Programming by Milena Džordeski
 - g. One Book One Province by Colleen Murphy
 - h. Conference Planning Committee by Ryan Monk
 - i. Executive Director's Report by Tina Kleisinger
- 7. **MOTION** to approve Reports of Representatives to External Organizations (in the Annual Report 2023-24)
 - a. Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) Prairie Provinces Representative by Brad Doerksen





- b. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Copyright Committee Representative by Christina Winter
- c. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee by Deborah Pelletier
- d. SLA Representative to Multitype Library Board by Dale Storie
- e. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Book Awards by Gwen Fisher
- f. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library and Information Technology Advisory Committee by Chasity Berast
- g. SLA Representative to University of Regina Senate by Kate-Lee Nolin
- h. SLA Representative to University of Saskatchewan Senate by Amanda Lepage
- i. SLA Representative to The Willow Awards by Nancy Gorman/Erin Walton
- 8. **Nominating Committee –** James Hope Howard, Morgan Kelly, and Michele Fedyk
 - a. **MOTION** to approve the nomination of the 2024-25 SLA Board of Directors as endorsed by the 2023-24 SLA Board of Directors

Board Members 2024-25

James Hope Howard, President (2024-2026)

Michele Fedyk, Treasurer (2024-2026)

Riane LaPaire, VP Communications and Engagement (2024-2026)

Morgan Kelly, VP of Advocacy (2024-2025)

Oksana Moshynska, Member at Large (2024-2025)

Desirae Munro, Member at Large (2024-2026)

Deborah Pelletier, Member at Large (2024-2025)

Danielle Raymond, Member at Large (2024-2026)

9. Other Business

- 10. Announcements
 - a. Provincial Libraries Conference 2025
 - b. The Partnership Update
- 11. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members
 - a. Board Member at Large, Luke Muller
- 12. **Courtesy Resolutions** (from the floor)
- 13. Motion to Adjourn

Attachments:

- a. Minutes of the SLA Annual General Meeting; May 5, 2023
- b. Audited Financial Statement 2023-2024

