

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Saskatchewan Library Association: May 5, 2023, 8:15 a.m. - 9:15 a.m.

Saskatoon Inn, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Individual Voting Delegates: Geoffrey Allen (Regina Public Library), Caitlin Bakker (University of Regina), Eric Bews (student), Angela Carnall (Campion College), Mary Chipanshi (University of Regina), Brad Doerksen (University of Regina), Marj Gavigan (Regina Public Library), Regan Gunningham (Provincial Library & Literacy Office), Kimberley Hintz (Regina Public Library), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library & Literacy Office), Marika Hunter (RCMP Learning Resource Centre), Morgan Kelly (Southeast Regional Library), Jessica Kelly (Saskatchewan Health Authority), Elaina Lawn (Campion College), Oksana Moshynska (Saskatoon Public Library), Luke Muller (University of Saskatchewan), Desirae Munro (Wheatland Regional Library), Deborah Pelletier (retired member), Leslie Polsom (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), Danielle Raymond (Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation), Robert Thomas (University of Regina), Beatrice Weigel (Horizon School Division), Melissa Bennett (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), and Riane LaPaire (National Network for Equitable Library Service).

Institutional Voting Delegates: Marilyn Belhumeur (Gabriel Dumont Institute Library), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?áh Library System), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library & Literacy Office), Marika Hunter (RCMP Learning Resource Centre), Amber Christenson (Regina Public Library), Melissa Bennett (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), and Nancy Young (Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association Resource Centre).

- 1. Welcome and Introductions President Amy Rankin
 - a. Acknowledgment of Treaty 6 Territory and the homeland of the Metis people where we are gathered
 - b. Announcement of Parliamentarian: Brad Doerksen
 - c. Rules of Order: Bylaw Section 16
 - d. Verification of Quorum: Bylaw 14.5 in Section 3: Articles & Bylaws
 - e. Introduction of 2022-23 Board and Staff
- 2. **MOTION** to approve the agenda with amended Treaty Territory. **Moved by James Hope Howard; seconded by Nancy Young Carried.**
- 3. **MOTION** to approve the minutes of May 6, 2022, SLA AGM as presented. **Moved by Morgan Kelly; seconded by Desirae Munro. Carried.**
- 4. **MOTION** to approve the President's Report in the Annual Report 2022-23. **Moved by Nancy Young; seconded by Geoffery Allen. Carried.**
- 5. Treasurer's Report Michele Fedyk
 - a. **MOTION** to approve Treasurer's Report in the Annual Report 2022-23 **Moved by Michele Fedyk; seconded by Kimberley Hintz. Carried.**





b. **MOTION** to approve audited 2022-23 Financial Statements in the Annual Report 2022-23

Moved by Michele Fedyk; seconded by Riane LaPaire. Carried.

- MOTION to approve Robert Szautner Chartered Accountant Prof Corp. as Auditor for the year ending January 31, 2024
 Moved by Michele Fedyk; seconded by James Hope Howard. Carried.
- 6. **MOTION to approve Committee Reports and Executive Director's Report** (in the Annual Report 2022-23)
 - a. Advocacy and Development by Morgan Kelly, Vice-President of Advocacy and Development
 - b. Prison Library Sub Committee by Marika Hunter
 - c. Continuing Education by Robert Thomas
 - d. Communications and Engagement by Riane LaPaire, Vice-President of Engagement and Communications
 - e. Program by Mary Lou Van De Bon
 - f. One Book One Province by Colleen Murphy
 - g. Executive Directors Report by Tina Kleisinger
 Moved by Robert Thomas; seconded by Nancy Young. Carried.
- 7. **MOTION to approve Reports of Representatives to External Organizations** (in the Annual Report 2022-23)
 - a. Partnership Committee by Tina Kleisinger
 - b. Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) Prairie Provinces Representative by Brad Doerksen
 - c. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee by Deborah Pelletier
 - d. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Copyright Committee Representative by Christina Winter
 - e. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Cataloguing and Metadata Standards Committee by Devon Lemire
 - f. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Book Awards by Mary Lou Van De Bon
 - g. SLA Representative to The Willow Awards by Robin Berg
 - h. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library and Information Technology Advisory Committee by Catherine Hana
 - i. SLA Representative to Multitype Library Board by Dale Storie
 - j. SLA Representative to University of Regina Senate by Kate-Lee Nolin
 - k. SLA Representative to University of Saskatchewan Senate by Carol Cooley Moved by Riane LaPaire; seconded by Morgan Kelly. Carried.
- 8. Nominating Committee Amy Rankin and Riane LePaire MOTION to approve the nomination of the 2023-24 SLA Board of Directors as endorsed by the 2022-23 SLA Board of Directors.





Board Members 2023-24

James Hope Howard, President (2023-2024) Michele Fedyk, Treasurer (2023-2025) Riane LaPaire, VP Engagement and Communications (2022-2024) Morgan Kelly, VP of Advocacy & Development (2023-2025) Luke Muller, Member at Large (2022-2024) Oksana Moshynska, Member at Large (2023-2025) Deborah Pelletier, Member at Large (2023-2025) Danielle Raymond, Member at Large (2022-2024) **Moved by Elaina Lawn; seconded by Robert Thomas Carried.**

9. Information Items

a. Presentation of 2023-2027 Strategic Plan

10. Other Business

11. Announcements

- a. Libraries Conference 2024, May 1-3, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina, SK
- b. Regional Park Pass Lending Program
- 12. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members President, Amy Rankin
- 13. Courtesy Resolutions (from the floor)

14. Motion to Adjourn Moved by Luke Muller.

Attachments:

- a. Minutes of the 2022 SLA Annual General Meeting
- b. Audited Financial Statement 2022-2023
- c. 2023-2027 Strategic Plan

