

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Saskatchewan Library Association: May 6, 2022 8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.

Individual Voting Delegates: Geoffrey Allen (Regina Public Library), Megan Ashcroft (Saskatchewan Polytechnic), Jeff Barber (Regina Public Library), Lindsay Baker (Wapiti Regional Library), Melissa Bennett (Legislative Library), Blanche Bird (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Cara Bradley (University of Regina), Angela Carnell (Campion College), Brad Doerksen (University of Regina), Kathryn Foley (Chinook Regional Library), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library and Literacy Office), Marika Hunter (RCMP Learning Resource Centre), Alison Jantz (University of Saskatchewan), Desirae Munro (Wheatland Regional Library), Deborah Pelletier (SLA Board Member), Leslie Polsom (Legislative Library), Harriet Roy (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Michael Shires (University of Regina), Elaina St. Onge (Campion College), Dale Storie (University of Regina), Lisa Ulriksen (Provincial Library and Literacy Office), Brett Waytuck (University of Regina), Darrell Yates (Saskatchewan Polytechnic).

Institutional Voting Delegates: Jeff Barber (Regina Public Library), Lindsay Baker (Wapiti Regional Library), Melissa Bennett (Legislative Library), Chasity Berast (Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library & Information Program), Paula Daigle (First Nations University), Michelle Dalidowicz (Saskatchewan Health Sciences Library), Kathryn Foley (Chinook Regional Library), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library and Literacy Office), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System), Marika Hunter (RCMP Learning Resource Center), Alison Jantz (University of Saskatchewan, James Richards (Southeast Regional Library), Nancy Young (Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association), Colin Evans (Lakeland Library Region), Brett Waytuck (University of Regina).

- 1. Welcome and Introductions President Amy Rankin
 - a. Acknowledgment of Treaty 4 territory and the homeland of the Metis people where we are gathered
 - b. Announcement of Parliamentarian: Brad Doerksen
 - c. Rules of Order: Bylaw Section 16
 - d. Verification of Quorum: Bylaw 14.5 in Section 3: Articles & Bylaws
 - e. Introduction of 2021-22 Board and Staff
- Approval of the SLA AGM Agenda May 6, 2022
 MOTION to approve the agenda as presented. Moved by Kathryn Foley; seconded by Colin Evans. Carried.
- 3. Approval of Minutes May 6, 2021 SLA AGM

 MOTION to approve the minutes of May 6, 2021 SLA AGM as presented. Moved by

 James Hope Howard; seconded by Angela Carnell. Carried





4. Approval of President's Report

MOTION to approve the President's Report in the Annual Report 2021-22. Moved by Brett Waytuck; seconded by Jeff Barber. Carried.

- 5. Approval of Treasurer's Report
 - a. MOTION to approve Treasurer's Report in the Annual Report 2021-22 Moved by Darrell Yates; seconded by Harriet Roy. Carried.
 - b. **MOTION** to approve audited 2021-22 Financial Statements in the Annual Report 2021-22. **Moved by Darrell Yates**; seconded by Nancy Young. Carried
 - c. **MOTION** to approve Robert Szautner Chartered Accountant Prof Corp. as Auditor for the year ending January 31, 2023. **Moved by Darrell Yates**; **seconded by Colin Evans. Carried**
- Approval of Committee Reports and the Executive Director's Report
 MOTION to approve Committee Reports and Executive Director's Report in the
 Annual Report 2021-22. Moved by Elaina St. Onge; seconded by Kathryn Foley.
 Carried.
 - a. Advocacy and Development by Tasha Maddison, Vice-President of Advocacy and Development
 - b. Prison Library Sub Committee by Marika Hunter
 - c. Continuing Education by Robert Thomas
 - d. Communications and Engagement by Elaina St. Onge, Vice-President of Engagement and Communications
 - e. Program Activities by Leslie Charlton
 - f. One Book One Province by Colleen Murphy
 - g. Executive Directors Report by Dorothea Warren
- 7. Approval Reports of Representatives to External Organizations
 MOTION to approve Reports of Representatives to External Organizations in the
 Annual Report 2021-22. Moved by Alison Jantz; seconded by Geoffrey Allen.
 Carried.
 - a. Partnership Committee by Dorothea Warren
 - b. Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) Prairie Provinces Representative by Julie McKenna
 - c. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee by Michael Shires
 - d. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Copyright Committee Representative by Christina Winter
 - e. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Cataloguing and Metadata Standards Committee by Devon Lemire
 - f. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Book Awards by Carla Flengeris
 - g. SLA Representative to The Willow Awards by Judy Nicholson





- h. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library and Information Technology Advisory Committee by Catherine Hana
- i. SLA Representative to Multitype Library Board by Dale Storie
- j. SLA Representative to University of Regina Senate by Kate-Lee Nolin
- k. SLA Representative to University of Saskatchewan Senate by Carol Cooley
- 8. Report of the Nominating Committee 2022 Tasha Maddison and Nicole Bergen
 - a. MOTION to approve the nomination of the 2022-23 SLA Board of Directors as endorsed by the 2021-22 SLA Board of Directors. Moved by Brett Waytuck; seconded by Jeff Barber. Carried.

Board Members 2022-23

Amy Rankin, President (2022-2023)

Vacant, Treasurer (2022-23) 1 year to be filled

Riane LaPaire, Vice President Communications and Engagement (2022-2024)

Morgan Kelly, Vice President of Advocacy and Development (2022-23)

Luke Muller, Member at Large (2022-2024)

Deborah Pelletier, Member at Large (2021-23)

Oksana Moshynska, Member at Large (2021-2023)

Megan Ashcroft, Member at Large (2022-24)

9. Information Items

a. Prison Library Subcommittee

Amy Rankin provided highlights of the work undertaken by the Prison Library Subcommittee since September 2021 including: research, consultation with organizations doing similar work, conducting a survey, establishing a book club and preparing for delivery of books to the first participating correctional facility.

b. Regional Park Pass Lending Program

Amy Rankin reviewed the partnership with Saskatchewan Parks Association, Saskatchewan Recreation and Parks Association and SLA to lend 800 free regional park passes through participating public libraries. A library card is required to borrow a park pass which allows a period of 7 day access to any of about 100 regional parks in the province. It was noted that this is a pilot program from June 1, 2022- September 15, 2022 following which an evaluation will be completed.

10. Other Business

11. Announcements

a. Libraries Conference 2023, May 4-5, Location TBA





12. Thank you to Outgoing Board Members

Tasha Maddison, Vice President Advocacy and Development , Elaina St.Onge, Vice President Communication and Engagement and Darrell Yates, Treasurer

- 13. **Courtesy Resolutions** (from the floor) None
- 14. Motion to Adjourn Moved by James Hope Howard

Attachments:

- a. Minutes of the 2021 SLA Annual General Meeting
- b. Audited Financial Statement 2021-2022

