

# May 3, 2024, Annual General Meeting Minutes

Saskatchewan Library Association | May 3, 2024, 8:15 a.m. - 9:15 a.m. DoubleTree by Hilton, Regina, Saskatchewan

## ATTENDANCE

Individual Voting Delegates: Geoffrey Allen (Regina Public Library), Jeff Barber (Regina Public Library), Melissa Bennett (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), Angela Carnall (Campion College Library), Mary Chipanshi (University of Regina), Amber Christensen (Regina Public Library), Beth Côté (Saskatoon Public Library), Regan Gunningham (Provincial Library & Literacy Office), Kimberley Hintz (Regina Public Library), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?áh Library System), Stephanie Jeanes (Moose Jaw Public Library), Morgan Kelly (Southeast Regional Library), Kim Kovacs (Gabriel Dumont Institute Library), Riane LaPaire (National Network for Equitable Library Service), Amanda Lepage (Saskatoon Public Library), Oksana Moshynska (Saskatoon Public Library), Desirae Munro (Wheatland Regional Library), Deborah Pelletier (retired member), Leslie Polsom (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), Amy Rankin (RCMP Learning Resource Centre), Danielle Raymond (Saskatchewan Polytechnic), Michael Shires (University of Regina), Dale Storie (University of Regina), Robert Thomas (University of Regina), Katherine Wagner (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), Brett Waytuck (University of Regina), Beatrice Weigel (Horizon School Division - Quill Lake School).

Institutional Voting Delegates: Jeff Barber (Regina Public Library), Melissa Bennett (Saskatchewan Legislative Library), Beth Côté (Saskatoon Public Library), Kathryn Foley (Parkland Regional Library), Sherry Fredsberg (North East School Division), James Hope Howard (Pahkisimon Nuye?áh Library System), Kim Kovacs (Gabriel Dumont Institute Library), Jessica Morris (Northern Lights Library System), Kim Hebig (Wheatland Regional Library), Lindsay Baker (Wapiti Regional Library) Brett Waytuck (University of Regina), Nancy Young (Saskatchewan Parks & Recreation Resource Centre)

SaskCulture Outreach Consultant: Paul Gingras

- 1. Welcome and Introductions President James Hope Howard
  - a. Acknowledgment of Treaty 4 territory and the homeland of the Métis people where we are gathered
  - b. Announcement of Parliamentarian: Robert Thomas
  - c. Rules of Order: Bylaw Section 16
  - d. Verification of Quorum: Bylaw 13.5 in Section 3: Articles & Bylaws
  - e. Introduction of 2023-24 Board and Staff







- 2. MOTION to approve the agenda as presented Nancy Young/Riane Lapaire CARRIED
- 3. **MOTION** to approve the minutes of May 5, 2023, SLA AGM as presented Geoffrey Allen/Sherry Fredsberg CARRIED
- 4. **MOTION** to approve the President's Report in the Annual Report 2023-24 Jeff Barber/Linsday Baker CARRIED
- 5. **Treasurer's Report –** Michele Fedyk
  - a. **MOTION** to approve Treasurer's Report in the Annual Report 2023-24 Michele Fedyk/Morgan Kelly CARRIED
  - b. **MOTION** to approve audited 2023-24 Financial Statements in the Annual Report 2023-24 Michele Fedyk/Jeff Barber CARRIED
  - c. MOTION to approve Robert Szautner Chartered Accountant Prof Corp. to conduct an audit for the year ending January 31, 2025 (as per clarifying remarks from Paul Gingras, SaskCulture Program Consultant) Michele Fedyk/Oksana Moshynska CARRIED
- 6. MOTION to approve Committee Reports and Executive Director's Report (in the Annual Report 2023-24)
  - a. Advocacy by Morgan Kelly, Vice-President of Advocacy
  - b. Prison Library Sub-Committee by Marika Hunter
  - c. Continuing Education by Cara Bradley
  - d. Awards Sub-Committee by Robert Thomas
  - e. Communications and Engagement by Riane LaPaire, Vice-President of Communications and Engagement
  - f. Programming by Milena Džordeski
  - g. One Book One Province by Colleen Murphy
  - h. Conference Planning Committee by Ryan Monk
  - i. Executive Director's Report by Tina Kleisinger Brett Waytuck/Desirae Munro CARRIED







- 7. **MOTION** to approve Reports of Representatives to External Organizations (in the Annual Report 2023-24)
  - a. Canadian Federation of Library Associations (CFLA-FCAB) Prairie Provinces Representative by Brad Doerksen
  - b. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Copyright Committee Representative by **Christina Winter**
  - c. SLA Representative to CFLA-FCAB Indigenous Matters Committee by Deborah Pelletier
  - d. SLA Representative to Multitype Library Board by Dale Storie
  - e. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Book Awards by Gwen Fisher
  - f. SLA Representative to Saskatchewan Polytechnic Library and Information Technology Advisory Committee by Chasity Berast
  - g. SLA Representative to University of Regina Senate by Kate-Lee Nolin
  - h. SLA Representative to University of Saskatchewan Senate by Amanda Lepage
  - i. SLA Representative to The Willow Awards by Nancy Gorman/Erin Walton Kathryn Foley/Geoffrey Allen CARRIED
- 8. Nominating Committee James Hope Howard, Morgan Kelly, and Michele Fedyk
  - a. **MOTION** to approve the nomination of the 2024-25 SLA Board of Directors as endorsed by the 2023-24 SLA Board of Directors

## Board Members 2024-25

James Hope Howard, President (2024-2026) Michele Fedyk, Treasurer (2024-2026) Riane LaPaire, VP Communications and Engagement (2024-2026) Morgan Kelly, VP of Advocacy (2024-2025) Oksana Moshynska, Member at Large (2024-2025) Desirae Munro, Member at Large (2024-2026) Deborah Pelletier, Member at Large (2024-2025) Danielle Raymond, Member at Large (2024-2026) Jeff Barber/Kathryn Foley CARRIED

## 9. Other Business

a. Discussion lead by Beth Cote regarding potential SLA representation on CFLA; Futures Lab







#### 10. Announcements

- a. Provincial Libraries Conference 2025
- b. The Partnership Update
- 11. Thank you to Departing Board Member Board Member at Large, Luke Muller
- 12. Courtesy Resolutions (from the floor)
- 13. Motion to Adjourn Kathryn Foley/Angela Carnall CARRIED at 8:55am

#### Attachments:

- a. Minutes of the SLA Annual General Meeting; May 5, 2023
- b. Audited Financial Statement 2023-2024

